OMPA Board Members Selected

Three members of the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority board were chosen for re-election and another was confirmed by the membership at the Annual Electors’ Meeting in Edmond on Sept. 8.

Those selected to elected to retain their positions on the board included Mary Rupp from Perry, Janice Cain from Altus and David Yeager from Duncan. Jason McPherson from Marlow, who was appointed to fill an empty slot in March, was also confirmed.

A wholesale power supplier with 42 municipal members throughout Oklahoma, OMPA is governed by its 11-member Board of Directors, who are elected by representatives of the members. The board is comprised of elected officials, city managers and others who are involved in the operating or governing of their electric systems. Board members serve staggered three-year terms, with one-third of them coming up for election each year.

Rupp has been city manager at Perry since November of 2012, after working for 35 years for the City of Stillwater where she was assistant city manager for 18 years and deputy city manager for another six. She has been on the OMPA board since December of 2013. She is currently the Treasurer for the Board of Directors.

Cain was voted to the board at its monthly meeting just hours before the Annual Electors’ Meeting, then later re-elected. She began serving as the city manager at Altus this July. She is a past president of the MESO Board of Directors and also held a different term on the OMPA board from 2010-2013 during the tail end of her 15-year stint as city administrator at Marlow. She was the recipient of the American Public Power Association’s Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award in 2008.

Yeager was appointed to the board in July. He has been the Electric Utilities Director for Duncan Power since 1999, having worked for the city since 1983. He also is the Chairman for OMPA’s Planning and Operations Committee, and is on the Competitive Utility Program (CUP) Oversight Committee.

McPherson was selected to fill a vacancy in March. He has been the city administrator with Marlow for more than three years, and also serves on OMPA’s Energy Services Executive Committee.